Announcement: 2015 Annual Meeting and Board Elections

The FOCPL Board invites all members to attend our 2015 Annual Meeting on December 5, 2015, at 10 a.m. The event will be held in the Meeting Room of the Main Branch of the Orange County Public Library in Hillsborough. We have an exciting agenda lined up for this event! Mayor Tom Stevens will kick things off with his very own brand of “welcome y’all.” Local poet Bart Baker will emcee. Celisa Steele, Carrboro Poet Laureate, will read from her work. Our headliner is author Jill McCorkle, who will speak on our theme, “Creating a Passion to Read.” There will also be time for socializing over a catered brunch.

We will hold a short business meeting, during which we will elect new Board members to serve the 2016-2017 term. We have four open positions and are very fortunate that five well-qualified candidates have stepped forward for consideration. Please read their personal statements below and be prepared to vote at the meeting. We will also be bidding a fond farewell and showing our appreciation for the service of outgoing Board members Tommy McNeill, Tori Williams Reid, Bill Barrows, and Mark Smith.

It is also time to think about renewing your membership for the new year. Renewal applications will be available at the Annual Meeting, or you can pick up a form at the Library or download one from our website. The Board is pleased to offer a new option of lifetime membership for individuals or families. We greatly appreciate all our members. Your support helps make our Library such a fantastic asset for our community.

PERSONAL STATEMENTS BY FOCPL BOARD CANDIDATES

REGINA DOZIER

As the owner of Regina Gale Cosmetics, a unique beauty consulting company specializing in personalized perfumes and cosmetics for distinctive individuals or that special someone, I create uniquely beautiful handcrafted perfumes and cosmetics that capture the personality and spirit of individuals. The result is a customized look that reflects individuality and celebrates what makes my clients special. Upon graduation from high school I studied at Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising. Over time my continued desire for higher education led me to obtain both my undergraduate degree and an MBA while maintaining a successful career in the in the Pharmaceutical Industry. My knowledge of pharmaceuticals and the relationships developed with some of the most respected chemist and scientist in the industry are an invaluable resource for me in my business.

I have been allowed to incorporate the passions of my youth, all having to do with beautiful things, the girlie things. I have come full circle.

I love to cook, sing, and indulge my creativity by making things inspired from my heart. I feel blessed because I am able to enjoy spending time with cherished family members and friends as well as the four-legged bearers of joy in the house, Nugget and Flo. I strive to balance work with pleasure and I enjoy and appreciate the gift of life.

STACEY GAMBLE

My name is Stacey Gamble. I have lived in Hillsborough for the last 17 years, with my two sons Shane and Evan.

I was the Director of Operations and the Movie Buyer for Visart Video for 23 years. I also assisted with the operations of the company’s newsstands. My passion for both film and literature led me to open an online store that specializes in all forms of media, as well as rare and collectible books.

I was appointed to the Friends board this past summer, after being a long-standing volunteer at the Friends annual book sales. I have had the opportunity to chair the past two book sales, and I’m happy to report they’ve been the most financially successful to date! I’ve also lent a hand in the following areas: set-up and maintained a Facebook page for the Friends, assisted with author readings at the library, helped interview and recruit new board members, and assisted with the planning and publicity for the December annual meeting.

I look forward to continuing both my work with the annual book sale, as well as helping to execute our vision within the community of creating a passion to read in Orange County.

I’m hoping with your support I have the opportunity to be an integral part in the Friends continued growth and success. As well as a strong liaison working with both the members of the board and the community. Thank you for your consideration!

DEE LOVE

Dee Love is new to this area, having lived in the Triad for her entire life, except for the time she spent at N.C. State, where she studied business. She was a successful real estate broker and residential builder in Greensboro, but her real passion is cooking. Having grown up working in her parents’ restaurants and catering businesses, Dee gained an appreciation for well-prepared food. She has operated her own catering and prepared-food business, and continues to enjoy creating healthy and imaginative meals for her friends and family. Dee has traveled extensively in Europe and Asia, and more recently has been learning about the many hidden treasures of her home state.

Dee is a voracious reader, and enjoys fiction, history, cookbooks (of course), and delights in finding well written books for children and juveniles to share with her many nieces and nephews. Through involvement with the Orange County Library, she hopes to bring a life-long joy of reading to local children.

Dee lives in the Hardscrabble area of Orange County with her friend, Craig, and their very spoiled cat, Missy.

STEPHEN A. SMITH

I would like to join the FOCPL Board, as it would be a personally gratifying way to serve our community. Our county’s libraries are a wonderful resource and I hope to help enhance their resources. My parents taught me a love of reading at an early age, and that has benefitted me greatly. I would particularly encourage programs that support preschool literacy.

Having had a long career in finance, I would like to work in the Friends’ Treasury function. I worked as an Assistant Treasurer at a high tech company, and as an investment portfolio manager at several firms, including JP Morgan. I am now retired. My education includes an MBA in finance from the University of Chicago and a BA in economics from Harvard University.

SUSAN VREELAND

Susan Vreeland is a Registered Nurse/Clinical Research Coordinator in the Division of Cardiology at Duke University Hospital. Prior to joining Duke University in January 2014, Ms. Vreeland served a Donor Management Coordinator for the University of Miami’s Life Alliance program.

A lifelong learner and avid reader, Susan has long been a supporter of public libraries. When her three children were growing up, she often took them to the library twice a week to check out armfuls of books.

Ms. Vreeland has served as President of the Herbert Ammons Middle School Chorus Booster Club and as Secretary of the Coral Reef High School Orchestra in Miami, Florida where she was involved in fundraising efforts and event planning.

Ms. Vreeland, a native of Watertown, Massachusetts, has lived in Hillsborough since 2014. She enjoys volunteering with the Eno River Association and the Hillsborough Arts Council. When she’s not volunteering at community events or taking art classes, Susan loves exploring new places and taking advantage of all NC has to offer with her husband, Mike.

HOLLIE WHITE

When I moved to Hillsborough three years ago, I was super excited about getting a card at my new (to me) public library. The Orange County Public Library branch in Hillsborough did not disappoint with fancy self-checkout machines, Overdrive services for my iPad, and very nice librarians and staff to help me find anything I wanted. Library nerd that I am, I was thrilled, because libraries are my life.

For the last 10 years I have been dedicating myself to library work. I received my Masters in Library Science at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 2004. After that I was a Catalog Librarian at the Arizona State University’s Law Library for 3 years. I then decided I needed to have a fuller understanding of libraries and library work so, I returned to school to get a PhD in Library and Information Science at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. I graduated in 2012, but moved to Hillsborough when I returned to professional librarianship in 2011. I am currently the Digital Initiatives Librarian at Duke University’s Goodson Law Library. While I am incredibly active in the American Association of Law Libraries, I want to do something local that has impact on the people I see every day.

Hillsborough is my home. The library plays such an important part in providing information and resources to people that need them. I want to be able to support such an essential part of my local community. I hope that I will be able to bring my experience from other library communities to the Friends of the Orange County Public Library Board in ways that benefit no only the library, but the people in my local area as well.

1 Comment

Filed under Events

One response to “Announcement: 2015 Annual Meeting and Board Elections

  1. Pingback: Creating a Passion for Reading: Friends’ Annual Meeting | Friends' Matters